Living with Hypothyroidism

When you get diagnosed with a thyroid problem it doesn’t seem like a big deal at first. You have so many things that are wrong with you that a “thyroid problem” is the least of them. It’s not though, it truly sucks. I wish that it would just go away and never come back, but everyone wishes that about a lot of things. So many women go everyday without knowing they have a thyroid problem, but knowing that something is wrong. Over the years after being diagnosed I’ve noticed so many women complaining about the same symptoms that I had and when I ask them they don’t even know what it is or what it does. I honestly didn’t even know I had a “Thyroid Gland” until I had a baby.

Before I had kids there was nothing wrong with me, well health wise anyways LOL, just kidding. I was a health active teenager who was very sports oriented. But when I got pregnant a lot of things starting going wrong. It was probably because my body wasn’t ready to carry a baby, OOPS. After my oldest was born I lost almost all of my pregnancy weight and I had just started to feel good about myself at then it came pounding back, no pun intended lol. I was gaining so much weight everywhere and I didn’t know what to do. Nothing was working or even helping in the slightest. I just kept gaining all this weight and seriously I felt like all I could do was sit and watch it pack on. I started feeling sick and having headaches, I was cramping, loosing hair, I couldn’t sleep, I was ALWAYS hungry, and super emotional to the point it was hard to function. I felt so lost and alone. I finally made the decision to go back to my OB and figure this out because something was obviously wrong. Maybe I was pregnant? I made an appointment and my regular Obstetrician was booked so I went with a Nurse Practitioner, worse mistake ever. Okay not ever but seriously why did I do that. I had one of my friends take me to my appointment because my fiance (boyfriend at the time) was at work in payson and was unable to get it off. We did an ultrasound and my endometrium was super thick after I had just had my period which is super abnormal. I met with the NP after and we went over the results and she automatically just jumped in telling me that I shouldn’t have a kid, I’m too young, and basically just bashing on me. Then she tells me 2 options of why my endometrium is so thick and pretty much leaves it at that. Bitch.

1. A VERY EARLY ON PREGNANCY

2. CANCER

She told me to go get my blood drawn for a blood pregnancy test and then we will go from there. I was so beyond scared at this point that I didn’t know what to do. My son wasn’t even a year and I didn’t want another baby for while, but I sure as HELL did not want to have cancer. So I hoped and prayed for that pregnancy test to come back positive. I was at school when they called me a couple days later. It was right in the middle of class, I had explained to my teacher to circumstances and I was going to a young mothers school so they are all super understanding. I stepped out to take the call, it was only the lab that called me so they had no idea what was going on. She told me that the test was negative and I broke down bawling, this poor lady on the phone had no idea what to do and probably thought I was crazy for crying over a negative pregnancy test at 17 lol I tried calling my boyfriend over and over again but he was at work. I just sat there bawling not knowing what to do. I obviously couldn’t go back into class crying like this.. so I just sat. I felt like my whole world was falling apart. My teacher came out and bless her heart comforted me while I just fell to pieces.

I decided it was probably best to go back to see MY doctor and find out what the next step was. I was nervous and prepared for the worst, he told me we needed to get a ton of blood work done before we could confirm that it was cancer. More blood work, great. I got it drawn and anxiously waited for them to call and tell me everything was okay. Again a couple days later I got a call from the lab, my white blood cells were just fine! My thyroid levels were incredible off though. I didn’t really know what the meant so I scheduled a appointment and went in again. He told me that I did NOT have cancer, I had hypothyroidism. I was SO HAPPY. I didn’t even know what it was but thank god it wasn’t cancer. The rest of the visit was simple and easy. I got put on a synthetic thyroid hormone and because I was severely overweight I was prescribed “Phentermine” (which I have another blog post about). I was lucky to have got the right dose of Levothyroxine (The synthetic thyroid hormone medication) and all I had to do was get my blood tested once a month every month. I started loosing weight, feeling better, and being better.

BUT THEN i got pregnant with my youngest a year later and boy that just sent it all over the place after my daughter was born. I got tested and it was waaaay too high and so they put me on a .50 dose of medication and I tested again and it was waaaaaaay too low. Then it was .50 dose 4 times a week and .75 dose 3 times a week. I couldn’t loose ANY pregnancy weight and stuck right at the weight I delivered at. Again I got put on phentermine weighing in at 165.6, 2 ounces heavier than before lol.

Waking up everyday and knowing that I wouldn’t be able to eat for at least 30 minutes no matter how hungry I am sucks. After taking my medication it requires 30 minutes to dissolve on an empty stomach. It sucks. Medication can only do so much so I still feel so what crummy and my hormones are always all over the place. Weight is a big issue for women, I can’t loose any weight by myself. Not even dieting, exercising or both. I would much rather be on medication for it though.

MY PERSONAL SYMPTOMS: Headaches, fatigue, hair loss, constipation, no sex drive what so ever, weight gain, hormonal, depression and irregular uterine bleeding(Not sure if it’s due to my birth control, the depo shot orrrrr my thyroid problem)

I wish that people knew more about thyroid problems and how much it can affect your everyday life. It doesn’t matter if you are old or young. If you have any symptoms, especially if you’ve gave birth.. GO GET CHECKED. ITS A SIMPLY BLOOD TEST!

Click below to see if you have symptoms of hypothyroidism.

EVERY SINGLE SYMPTOM THERE IS!

Links to read further on what it is and what it do:

Hypothyroidism (Underactive Thyroid)

Less Common Symptoms

 

Leave a Reply

